So, this weekend was busy. Jose umpired a game on Friday night. I was home alone with the kids and it was actually a calm night. They went to bed early and I actually got some time to decompress on the couch. Saturday we headed straight to my parents first thing in the morning. Jose had a double header so it was just me and the kids. I had to pack us for the whole day. That meant extra clothing, bottles, diapers, toys, bathing suits, special sunblock(which I left behind) and pj's. It is easiest to leave there when it is bedtime so the kids will sleep in the car.
We visited with my cousins who I haven't seen in a year, played Bananas (btw: anyone ever want to play, I would LOVE to...I am addicted!!) laughed, ate, and swam. Jose joined me later and took me out for a WONDERFUL dinner at Alma Nove. It is a new restaurant in Hingham Shipyard and the food was super good. The only thing is that I do not recommend the pasta...I don't know why, but they seem to excel in all the other dishes and fall flat with the pasta. When we got back to my moms after a 3 hour meal, we learned that Manny cried the whole time. Luckily, he had a dozen babysitters to help pass him around, sing to him, swing him, drive him in the car, push him in the stroller, rock him...but...nothing worked really and he just wanted his mama. :-) He did end up falling asleep because he was completely exhausted on my mothers lap. Needless to say, we will not be heading to Alma Nove anytime soon. My little guy still really needs us at bedtime. It was nice to pretend for that one night though.
Sunday we were going to hang around all day and maybe head to the beach and do some housework, but I got the urge to head back to my mothers (mostly to prove to her that Manny was not scarred for life from the night before) and we spent the day in the pool. Manny slept outside on some cushions by the pool, or in my arms, ate his lunch at the picnic table and swam with us. He loved splashing in the water and we were very happy to see he likes the water as much as Ava. She spent the whole day jumping in the deep end, learning how to swim without her life jacket (which she calls a scooby...i love the name) and being so active. She was super hungry at the end of the day and I felt like she really experienced summer. We left somewhat early but Manny cried the entire ride home in the car. We stopped to take him out of his seat, but that was just a temporary fix. An hour ride home at the end of a long summer day with a crying baby is not a fun ride. It makes me want to turn in my drivers license.
Today was off and running as well. Ava started her first piano lesson and the teacher said she was very smart and did very well. Jose was great because he took the kids to run some errands first thing in the morning and ava off to her first lesson while I worked the summer program. I got home, they came home and we headed off to a birthday party for one of her friends. It was a great afternoon because it made me stop and just enjoy being with Ava and my friends for the party.
I still have a ton of work to do with the open house to the place I am hanging my work in only a couple of weeks away. I wish I was excellent at time management. I am still trying to finish up some jobs from year in the life that I do. It will all get done. I know it will.
I have no photos to post...I know, dont panic. I just decided to experience the weekend and today and not shoot it.
No comments:
Post a Comment