Pages

Monday, June 20, 2011

my favorite time of year...

Once again, my favorite time of year arrives.  It is the time where the winter boarders have left school and right before summer camp begins.  The weather is always breathing new life back into my pale complection and the stress of the school year slides off.

The school year has passed and it feels as if I am starting with a whole clean slate.  There is so much I cover during the year with photos and it can be a bit daunting.  The stress of it all overwhelms me at times.  During these next couple of weeks, I purge photos, edit like mad, and anxiously await the final projects.  I always worry I don't take enough images...then I look back and have hundreds to sift through.  Luckily one of my favorite things to do is edit down photos.  It is kind of like a sick compulsion.  Strange, I know.

Last week Ava "graduated" from preschool.  They do not have any formal little ceremony and for that I am hugely grateful.  It is hard enough to walk out those doors of idillyc paradise of learning that if they put a little graduation hat on her, you would probably have to scrape me up off of the floor.  I did however come to realize that in all my angst of her leaving, I almost forgot to recognize that it was a wonderful beginning...more than I could have ever hoped for or wanted, and for that I am eternally grateful.

Manny is getting so big and independent.  He stands on his stool in the bathroom and runs his toothbrush under the sink to brush his own teeth.  It is really quite a cute image of us in the morning...me drying my hair, manny and ava brushing their teeth while Ava tells me something that happened or talks about some tiny detail she remembers about an event all the while shocked I don't remember the same thing.

This week is very busy for me...not surprising...I have 4 photo shoots between now and Sunday, a haircut, funeral, dentist appointment for Ava, and a visit with a friend.  I am really looking forward to the visit.  :-)

Next week I start TASP photos and running their daily blog.  I cannot share the blog info with you since it is of children and we try our best to protect their privacy.  The blog is daily and so are the photos for 6 weeks.  On weekends I have private photo shoots scheduled so please forgive me if this blog gets neglected  from now until then. 

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Tabor Prom

It's raining, on prom night, my hair is a mess....

Poor tabor kids...rain on prom night.  I am looking forward to tonight though at the prom.  It is fun to see the kids all dressed up.  I can't believe the end of the  year is here already. 

The summer is right around the corner/here already.  I love the summer at Tabor.  I do one of my favorite jobs...photograph the summer program and run the daily blog.  This summer we are going away for vacation too which is a big treat.  We usually go to New Hampshire to the chalet and go to Storyland.  We bring some friends with us and the kids have a blast.  I love that vacation but it is a lot of work and I have to clean the chalet before we go and drop the trash off somewhere or drive with it at home...I also have to bring the sheets home with us to wash because there is no washer and dryer there either.  This year we are headed off to Smugglers Notch where there is camp for the kids (both of them) and they even  have babysitters at night so we can actually go out for dinner on our own.  We can spend as much and as little time as we like and the amenities are endless.  They have 8 heated pools with waterslides, hot tubs, mountain biking, segway riding, llama trecking, family games, campfires, hikes, canoeing, art classes (adults), yoga, massage...the list goes on and on.  I hope we are there long enough to do it all...we will only be there for 5 days.  I am hoping to make a little extra money this summer and extend that though.  It looks like so much fun for everyone.  I cannot wait!

I still need to find a flower girl dress for Ava for Angela's wedding.  I need a dress, Manny needs an outfit...lots to coordinate.  I will let Tabor finish though and then on to the next thing...one thing at a time.

Saturday, May 28, 2011

NEW POST!

Ok, so my last post was a while ago.  This month has been very busy.  The mornings I hit the ground running and don't stop until the kids are in bed and I am completely exhausted.  My health has a lot to do with why I am tired and this extra weight on my body is not helping me feel more energized.  I am once again working at taking the weight off.  Yesterday I was out in the hot sun in jeans that are a little too small for me but I can get away with it sort of thing....well, maybe not even get away with it, but needless to say, I was uncomfortable.  I missed the summer when my body was fit and the sun did not make me sweat.   I could walk into a store and buy a pair of shorts and not feel self conscious.  I am getting that life back.  I mean it.

This week ahead will mark the last official week of the seniors here at Tabor.  We have the prom, senior dinner, baccalaureate and graduation.  I am photographing each event.  It is a mad dash to the finish line and I am looking forward to finishing!

In the meantime, Oprah has said goodbye...her final 3 shows were well worth watching in my perspective.  I was entertained, I cried and once again, I learned a little about myself.  Goodbye Oprah Show.  I will miss you.


Today is another busy day.  We are on duty in the dorm, I have a bunch of errands to run, the kids have a late birthday party at a pool, photo shoot at the same time so Jose is taking the party errand.... and I am so bummed but had to cancel a night out with friends.  BOO!

Off to try to find something I am not going to sweat my butt off in today that doesn't cost a million dollars...or even $5.  LOL

Monday, May 9, 2011

New Camera....

I need a new camera.  I have grown out of my old one...well...I grew out of it a while ago.  I know what I am getting and am hoping to be able to get it before the month is out!  I CANNOT WAIT.

Friday, May 6, 2011

spring awakening, day with Beth, day with John, mono????

Ok...so it has been a long time again.  Last weekend my friend Libby took me to see a production of Spring Awakening at the Zieterian theater (sp??) for my birthday gift over the winter.  The show was really great, lots of enjoyable moments, shocking moments, and wow moments.  I still cannot believe that they load in for one performance.  That is dedication and true true love of the arts.  The theater was beautiful and I cannot believe I had never been there before.  I will definitely go back.  It is close to my house and we parked right outside.  LOVED  it.

Sunday Jose had a double header baseball game(s) to umpire.  I was again on my own and this time Beth came over with her daughter Taylor to visit.  IT WAS GREAT!  I had missed her and we haven't seen each other in so very long.  Taylor is 11 and at such a perfect age to watch/play with Ava.  Her and Ava were like best buddies all day.  It was no surprise to us though to see our girls get along so well.  Just a moment we have waited a very long time for.  :-)   When Jose got home, me and Beth were able to catch a quick dinner right down the street at Sippican Cafe.  I felt so reconnected with myself.  We hope to keep up our visits...we really lagged this time.

Monday arrived and John came over with Zachary.  He is getting so big!  (Zachary, not John)  I got to hold him and kiss him...he is so tiny and soft compared to Manny who seemed like a giant next to him.  We had such a nice visit as well and yes, we too went to Sippican Cafe for a delightful lunch.  John joined me for a quick walk to pick up Ava and it was nice for him to see her school.  I feel like I have such a different life here from back where I grew up and I always enjoy showing people around my area and peeking in at a day in the life of me.  Yes, that sounds very conceited, but it comes from a good place of sharing the life I have now that so many people who know me so well have no idea about.  I hope that we can continue visits on a more regular basis as well.  John always makes me laugh and we had a great time...at least I did...LOL.


Cut to today:....Ava has been sick with a fever for a couple of days now.  She had had 2 ticks on her tuesday and got a fever the next day.  We are getting her tested for Lymes disease in another week, but in the meantime, she has a yucky looking throat...no complaining from her though...amazing.  She may have mono.  We are waiting the weekend to see how she feels and then if she is still sick, I will take her back to the Dr. for some bloodwork....just great.  She better be 100% tomorrow.  I have no idea what she will do if she sees a needle...she hates them.


I would have added photos, but while manny is sleeping, ava is watching a movie while I type and now needs to snug up with her mama. 

Enjoy the beautiful sunshine.  It looks gorgeous outside!

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Again...SORRY!

If anyone cares...I'm so sorry I have been so bad at posting on the blog.  So much is going on and the days seem to fly by.

Today I did a photo shoot on a golf course for one of the kids I follow at school.  It was nice out at first...overcast and not too chilly.  BUT...then the fog rolled in.  The golf course is right on a peninsula and the fog quickly turned into a light rain shower.  I was unable to continue the shoot although I did get some interesting stuff.  I look forward to returning to continue his story.  It was too bad I had to stop shooting and most people would hate this weather, but there is something about a foggy day on a beach/beachside that I love...it is one of my favorite weather days.

Tonight is another students 16th birthday and I will be taking photos in a little while of a little "party" in the dorm for her.  Cute...should be fun with all her friends.  I love when not the norm happens for photos here...it is like little gold nuggets.

Last night is the night I usually watch Glee but instead we watched a new show called The Voice.  I really liked it because it is getting back to basics...listening to a song someone is singing instead of looking at someone singing a song.  Reminds me of the '70's.  Those people did not care at all about appearance!  HA!  Anyway, we watched and taped it hoping to see a Tabor grad on the show.  Last night was not his night so now I have to figure out how to watch 3 shows at once next week.  UGH.

Oh...and yes, I am DYING to see Kate's dress on Friday.  Sorry for those of you who don't care about the wedding or have had too much media thrown in your face about it...I have not and am looking forward to it.  There.  I said it.

I am really looking forward to this weekend!  Friday night I am going out with a friend for dinner then to see the musical "Spring Awakening".  I have little to no idea what the show is about so it should be interesting.  Saturday I am getting a very much needed, long awaited haircut...FINALLY!  I'm sorry...I know it seems silly to be so excited, but it has been since Christmas.  Sunday I am seeing one of my best friends who I haven't seen in a while and we are going for dinner.  We have a lot of catching up to do! 

We are starting to plan our summer vacation.  I am hoping we can go to Smugglers Notch in Vermont.  If you have never heard of it or don't know about it, check out the site.  It is geared towards families and they have everything you could want or think of while on vacation.

Thanks for coming back to my blog.  The next couple of months is a bit hectic for me but I will do my best to take time out to post.

Here is a fun photo of my husband on his first day of school...he still wears the same outfit just longer pants now and still carries a brief case (i think he was born with one attached to his hand) and still is going to school...only now he is the teacher.

 

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Hi there!`

Sorry, I know it has been a while.

A little update:  Ava had the flu last week...all better now, April vacation is this week, we had a birthday bonanza over the weekend, Easter is coming and the bunny has to prepare,and I have been playing around with my computer and some images i have...I have been a little obsessed and have been super distracted from blogging.

I promise it will all be worth it in the end.

This is a before and after photo I worked on today...not in that order...LOL.


Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Slow start...

I am having a slow start to a very busy week.  There is a lot that I am trying to fit in.  I have restructured some things in my business and now I am trying to follow up.  Ava is sick and we spend last night awake for most of it.  I am running on fumes today and trying to ignore the incredible exhaustion.

After all the tax prep for my business, I have made some changes in my pricing and what I can offer my clients.  I want to be available for everyone and offer the best quality proofs/printing/my time I can give.  At the same time, I have my end of responsibilities at home that need to be met.  It is a challenging balance and if anyone tells you it is easy, they are wrong.  So much time is put into every little detail of my work...a lot of thought goes in to what I offer and vendors I use.  I hope the new structure will make people feel at ease and comfortable with what I provide.  I love my work and I love being able to do it from my home.  I am around for my kids when they do get sick (like today) and I continually feel such a high from successful photo shoots and making people happy.  I love the "hunt" of the shot of the session and the past year I feel I got so much reward out of what I do.

That said...I have a lot to get done today in the little time while Manny is sleeping and I am on fumes.

I have been taking more photos of my kids around the house...I will post them later.

Enjoy the warmth today...even if it isn't sunny.

Sunday, April 10, 2011

April 15th!

HOLY COW...how did April 15th come so quickly?  I just filed my taxes from 2009...or at least it feels like it.  I hate this time of year.

On a funnier note...we headed up to Quincy yesterday so I could help my mother bake the Easter bread we have every Easter.  The bread is special because it is a family recipe that has been passed down for generations.  My mothers grandmother made it and hers before.

It is always a time that I look forward to...the bread on Easter morning.  It is a sweet bread with an orange flavor and hits the spot with Easter breakfast/brunch.  I have never made the bread.  I really enjoy baking too.  My nieces and nephews have baked the bread and even my sister...but, not me.  I had felt bad because I wanted to know so I could pass it down in my own family.  So, I took my family with me and we headed to my moms to make the bread.  There is a step in making this bread that involves cooling down some ingredients that have been heated on the stove.  To do this, my mother always places a big bowl in her generously sized sink with cold water running.  As the water is running, Ava is saying over and over again "No running water, no running water..." (a mantra she has learned at school).  I explain  to her that in this case, it is ok to have the water run but thank her for thinking of that.  I go to the next step and start getting more ingredients out.  I hear my mother gasp...the running water was accidentally positioned over the bowl ruining the heated mixture.  We have a good laugh at how we should have listened to Ava and that if there was a time to make a mistake, it would be then.  We continue on repeating the process and we finish the bread and bake it.  We taste it....we forgot a key ingredient in the mixture when we had to repeat a step.  We laugh and are relieved that we have more time today (sunday) to make more bread and agree that I will make another trip to help out.

I go to bed last night only to wake up at 1:30 and could not fall back asleep until around 5.  Manny woke up at 6 and Ava spent half the night in our bed.  I have a migraine.  I call my mom and we call it a day...she is making the bread.  I will go to her house on another day before Easter and help her make more.

Sometimes  you just should just go with the flow of the universe.  LOL

Enjoy your beautiful Sunday...I will be preparing for April 15th inside.  YUCK.

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Thank you Patty!

Today I had a tedious job to do.  I have some wedding clients from a long time ago and they are just ordering an album.  Because it has been so long since I took the photos, I have since switched to digital photography.  So, the photos I took at their wedding were all negatives.  I had to make sense out of old negative systems we had in place so long ago I had forgotten a few things.

Patty helped out so much today with the organizing.  She is the best assistant!!  Thank you Patty!!!  As always, it is so fun to work with her and the day just flies by.

Monday, April 4, 2011

1000!!

WOW...this is a huge milestone for me.  I never thought I would get 1000 hits on my blog, but it has happened!  I have finally visited my own blog 1000 times...I need a life.

Anyway, this past weekend was a good one.  Jose had Saturday classes on Saturday, yay...then we hung around Saturday afternoon and played a game of Uno while the kids played.  I had sent Ava outside to play with some other faculty children (one of the benefits of living here, being able to send your kid out to play without hovering over them) and was hoping she would stay outside...next thing I knew there was a playdate at our house with 3 little girls.  They had such a great time playing.  Manny chased them around and we got some time to have fun ourselves.

Sunday was a beautiful day outside and my parents were going to come down and visit.  My mom called and said that she wasn't going to clog up our day with a visit and we should get outside.  LOL...so, I for once in my life listened to my mom.  We packed the kids in the car, packed the bikes and the bike trailer, packed some PB&J's and headed to Falmouth for a bike ride on the bike trail.  It is so freeing to ride my bike with my family again.  Ava now rides her bike and Manny is big enough for the trailer so it is great to be able to get out with everyone.  Ava sang while riding her bike along the beach path and Manny couldn't have been better.  We had our snack and headed to Old Silver beach.  Ava wrote letters in the sand...she is learning how to read and is fascinated with words and letters.  Manny picked up every rock he could find...which was a lot and if the time we had at the beach while it was windy and a bit chilly was any indication of how the summer would be, this is going to be the best summer EVA!  LOL

I still have not found my solution about food yet, but I am working on it.  I know it is all tied in emotionally...I have to work on some issues.  I am chipping away at them.  Baby steps.

Friday, April 1, 2011

Eating Air??

After my rampage about the ww plan and how it has changed to Trixie, I did a little internet surfing.  What is my issue.  Why is this struggle with food a struggle for me and not for others?  What other options are out there for me?

I searched Dr. Oz.  "Think yourself thin" was the name of the show.  FABULOUS...I will just think about it...the Dr. explaining the method said that the people thinking themselves thin ate 40% less.  The theory is that you sit down with an empty bowl and spoon/fork/eating utensil of your choice...I will sit down with a big kitchen spoon and a big serving dish empty in front of me.  Then you imagine yourself eating the food before you actually eat the real food.  So you go through the motions.  The idea is that you fire off the eating senses early so that they aren't so charged up once your actual dinner arrives.  Great.  First of all, can you see me sitting in the dining hall surrounded by the entire school while I pretend to eat dinner with my empty plate?  Let's see...then, what would I be eating?  Hmmmm....this is a delightful idea...I could eat anything.  I think I will serve myself up some creamed spinach with a crusty salty bread crumb topping.  Next I will move on to the second course...an extra large papa gino's pizza with butter melted on top of it...better make that extra cheese too.  Don't forget my chicken fingers and egg rolls...Oh, and a big jar of peanut butter...make it a large wonder bread filled fluff sandwich with doritos on the side followed by a raspberry lime ricky.

Oh goodness...I have to go take a pretend tums.  My stomach is killing me from all that food.


C'mon people.






Thursday, March 31, 2011

SORRY!

There was some sort of mix up on my part.  "Addicted to food" did not premier the other night.  I believe it starts next week.



Tuesday, March 29, 2011

falling off the wagon...

I am falling off the wagon!  I am sure from my past blog entries, you are not at all surprised.  I am not.  I am trying to do the old weight loss program but do not have many resources to keep an accurate count of points and such.

I have let loose and let my hair down these past few days.  I have not exercised because of my schedule and I am a little bit out of control.

I also know that there are moments like this.  Days like this happen and that is all part of the process.  Trust the process.  Drink my water.  Write down my points....my old points.

Tonight I will be watching the new show "Addicted to Food".  I am certain I fall under this category.  I will give you details and proof of this in tomorrows post.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

When it rains...

...it pours.  This week was a little hectic.  It seems like everything always happens at one time.  I could be sitting at home twiddleing my thumbs and my phone doesn't ring, then all of a sudden, everything happens at once.  I'm not complaining though, I just wonder why that is.

This week was one of those weeks.  Jose has been on spring break and that has been so great to have him around the house giving us flexibility with so many things we juggle when he is working.  This week I had 3 photo shoots, a photo consultation, photo bookings, Jose's birthday, Ava got the flu (or something and still is not 100%) and break ends tomorrow.

Let's start with the photo shoots..absolutely so much fun!  3 little babies...two who are just about or just past 8 months old and one who was 7 weeks.  The 7 week old was so nerve wracking.  It was for a friend of mine who I went to photography school with.  She was the speaker at our graduation and a very talented photographer.  She had contacted me to take photos of her when she was pregnant, but for one reason or another, we could never get together due to schedules and distance since she lives an hour away.  When she had the baby she contacted me again to take her daughters photos.  "WHY?" I said...normally, I do not ask such a question, but being who she was, I was very confused.  Since we graduated from school, she has taken a different path.  She is now a baker...and a good one at that.  This past year she was on the show "Top Chef/Baking Edition".  The photo equipment that she owns is a 4x5 and film cameras.  Since photography equipment is so expensive, she never upgraded since switching careers.  I was so flattered she chose me to take the photos.  She has a huge photo pool of photogs but liked my work.  It is a very huge compliment and one I welcomed.  You can see why I was nervous...I wanted to give her what she wanted, but I had to stay true to myself and my style...after all, that is who she hired.

On to Jose's birthday...I planned his birthday for a few weeks ahead.  I know a personal trainer who lives on our street.  I hired her for a training session for the two of us early in the morning on his birthday.  I totally surprised him and just handed him a card that said "put your work out clothes on and be ready at 9".  We walked across the street to the gym (my mom came to watch the kids...ava was home sick) and had a great workout.  He loved it!!  He never takes a work out class like I think women tend to do and he is totally self motivated.  This was refreshing and new for him and it was perfect.  He showered, changed and met me back at home where we went out for lunch, just the two of us.  We came home, hung out a bit, and I sent him on to his second surprise.  A massage.  If you know my husband, you know that those two things are what he loves most...next to me of course! LOL

He has a present that we are stilll waiting for in the mail that he does not know about...when it arrives, I will let you in on it.

On to Ava getting sick...ugh...poor Avie.  She came down with a fever on Wednesday and has had it off and on as of last night.  Today we are taking it easy and I need her to rest.

I am in my PJ's...hanging low today...blogging, editing, surfing, planning the week.

Enjoy your weekend...here are some photos from this week:



Thursday, March 24, 2011

DOWN, down, down....

Going down anyone?  I did this week on my new "old" eating plan.  Glad to be back.  Looking forward to my traditional cheat night.  Enjoy people!!

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Last minute fun

Yesterday I had two photo shoots.  Jose primarily took over as Mr. Mom (a role he is quite good and comfortable at) and I had so much fun taking photos.  I wish I could just leave my set up for the indoor stuff set up all the time and just take fun photos all day long.  As the day went on and I started editing the photos, I took a break.  It was around 4:30 and now it was going to be time to start dinner.  I was not motivated at all...what would I make, what would I give the kids...then the clean up...you get the idea.  I looked at Jose and said "what do you want to do...I want to get out of here".  I really did not want to go to a restaurant.  Sometimes Manny is not the best patron and then I would have to figure out how to make something that I really want to have on the menu, healthy.  It is a lot of planning and work.  Jose said back "let's go to Quincy".  So we did!

We took a spur of the moment last minute idea and ran with it.  It was not the best time for anyone...the kids would be hungry, it takes an hour to get there, and we still had to worry about dinner.

We went anyway.  I was excited to surprise my parents and knew they would love to see the kids just walk in the door.  I was right.  :-)   While I was there, I called my sister and asked what she was doing for dinner.  She invited us over and said my nephew (about to graduate cullenary school) was cooking.  Im in.

We picked up the kids and my mom and went over to my sisters.  My two nephews were home and my sisters husband who is normally at work had come home early.  We had so much fun.  We put on some fun music we had not listened to in a long time, had some wine, danced, played a little Mastermind (great fun game), and laughed and laughed.  I hated to leave.  My kids were wonderful.  They were not winey or bored.  They enjoyed every minute.  It was lively and it was something I needed.  We left around 8:00-8:30ish, which was very late for the kids and they fell asleep in the car.

The kids are pooped today, but I don't care.  We don't do it all the time and we need to LIVE our lives, enjoy our families, love our lives.

I will try to post some shots from the shoots.

In the meantime, check out this new song I just got from a friend who so kindly bought me an ipod running song list.  SO NICE!!  I am addicted to this song and feel like it is my anthem lately.

LIVE, LOVE, DANCE, LAUGH, ENJOY!

"Ali in the jungle" by The Hours

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxNX5M_XSeA

Monday, March 21, 2011

"What have you done today, to make you feel proud?"....

I love that song from the Biggest Loser.  I use it sometimes as an anthem.  I am using it today...and every day forward.

As you have (or may not have) read in my last posting, I have been quite frustrated with the weight loss plan I was using.  I have since switched to the old weight loss plan I used a long time ago that did work for me and that I was happy on.

This has been building up for a few weeks now.  Over this past weekend, everything became clear.  I was so frustrated and ended up feeling like crap yesterday.  I was exhausted and needed a mental break day.  As I laid on the couch and watched the Harry Potter movies with Ava, I was feeling defenseless.  But, also I knew that when it came down to it, I have it in me to succeed.  Ava knew me as a strong mom who was fit and healthy.  I was active and she knew me as a runner.  Now, she sees my tummy, sees me laying on the couch and hears me saying "I'm so exhausted".  (ok, here comes the strong language in our house)  I HATE that person.  That person is not me and I know it.  I pull myself up, go to my biggest resource...a VERY good friend who was with me through it the first time and has always been there for me along the way.   (I will call her Trixie...the name is fun and it makes me smile) I text Trixie, then call her.  We talk, we get our anger out, we validate, we support, and we laugh.  It is just what I need.  Thanks Trixie.

I am revived again.  I start the day with a new purpose and a new plan.  I am not exhausted.  I am not lazy. I am not in my pj's.  :-)

I am ready.  I am strong.  I am on my way......I feel proud.

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Getting back up...

Not every day is a lovely day and not every day is all sparkly and magnificent.  I have been exercising and watching what I eat...on a weight loss plan.  The past couple of weeks I have been struggling, trying to keep my chin up about it.  I had a little mini-breakdown today about it.

Normally, you would never hear me share this information online.  I am getting it out though and letting it go.  Today I was defeated by my scale.  My spin/zumba/kickboxing classes in the past couple of weeks have done very little.  I have a long road ahead of me and need to get all these 85+ lbs off me a little at a time.  The scale today was no friend of mine.  It is so frustrating to think that I have been heavy for so very long and that every little morsel of food I eat has to be accounted for, free of fat/sugar/salt/anything that gives it substance.  Don't get me wrong, some of my favorite meals are healthy and I love eating my grilled chicken salads, but really?  You mean to tell me if I put a sprinkle of cheese on my enormous salad that I will not lose weight?  Ok, lets just make it a naked salad then right?  I will just eat lettuce.  C'mon.

So,  you see...here is where i am...mad.    the fact that I have to be so very careful and walk such a tightrope and work extra extra hard at this for little reward each week can be a very heavy load to bear.  I need to just get it out and put it out there in the universe so I can be rid of the bad feelings and thoughts and let them go.  I am getting back up, and staying the course.

I have incredible support from Jose.  Just amazing.  I cannot believe how much he loves and supports me.  Let's me complain and helps me stay focused.  He believes in me when I don't believe in myself.  These past couple of years were very difficult and trying on our marriage.  We were tested and at times I thought we would fail...he never did.  Every day my eyes are opened just a little bit wider to how lucky I am and what a wonderful life I have with him.

I am getting back up.  I thank you for letting me get out some ugly that was festering inside.

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

A Lovely Daaaayyy....

Sunday was a lovely day!  First let me back track and say that Friday night we had the priest from our church come over to our house to talk about having Manny baptized.  It was a surprisingly refreshing conversation about faith, our beliefs, and also what and why we want for him to be baptized.  There is more to elaborate on, but for now we will just say that I think we may end up doing a baptism/welcoming ceremony and we need to decide on how to do that.

So fast forward to Sunday.  We got up early (early with the time change) and headed for church.  It was the first time that we (me and Jose) were in complete synch with our feelings about attending the service.  We both were kind of happy to go and did not mind taking the couple hours out of our Sunday morning at all.  The service was nice (I guess) because I had to spend most of the time in the back of the church with Manny while he walked all around exploring.  Ava went to the Sunday school that takes place during the service which makes things so nice.  The teachers then bring the children into the service at the very end and then we headed over to the hall for the after church reception.  There are a lot of families that we know that attend this parish so it is already a welcoming comfortable feeling.  The kids played with a ton of other children and we ended up chatting for so long that we were one of the last to leave.

As we came home, my parents had just pulled up in the drive way and came to visit.  They always bring the dog and the kids love to see them as well as we do.  They love to play with the dog and we had some good conversations about our morning.

I had laid down on the couch while my dad and Jose watched a little exhibition game with the Red Sox and I totally fell asleep and took a nice little power nap.

My parents left soon after and Manny took a 3 hour nap that afternoon.  When he woke up we went for a bike ride down to the beach.  FREEDOM!  It was so great to be able to have Manny in the bike trailer (he is finally big enough) and Ava rode her bike with Jose pulling up the rear.  When we got to the beach, the kids played at the playground and it was a beautiful day.  We came home, had dinner, put the kids to bed, Jose made a nice fire and we watched "The Town".  Because of the time change, i was able to stay awake to see the whole movie and I really enjoyed it.  This made Jose very happy because we never get to see anything together for one reason or another and he loves movies so much.

All and all it was a really great day.  Amazing.  Because we are on break, it felt like we had a normal life doing a normal Sunday thing and that he wasn't tied to his job or had to rush home to grade papers or anything.  A nice break from the routine.

Looking forward to the nice weather and more bike rides.  I love taking it slow right now.  This is the last break before summer and once the students return it goes so fast.

Enjoy the good weather.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Such a nice time

I had such a nice time last night.  For a couple of weeks a friend of mine was planning a girls night out while her in-laws took her kids for the weekend.  I was looking forward to the night out.  After spending the day outside for a good portion of it with the kids to poop them out, I realized I had pooped myself out as well.  The wind was kind of strong yesterday and a bit chilly coming in off the water.  I came home and laid on the couch and fell asleep in the middle of the day.  It was great!  But, what ended up happening is that I just felt kind of lazy and tired the rest of the day.  I was starting to waiver going out since Jose made a nice fire and lit it when the phone rang and my friends were saying they were picking me up.  I quickly agreed because I know it is good for me to go and I would have a good time.  I pulled together an outfit, threw on some make up and they picked me up and off we went.

It was such a nice time laughing and gossiping and catching up.  I am just always amazed at how many friends I have made living here.  They are wonderful women.  Strong, inspiring, fun and good people.

I did not however, enjoy the time change this morning when the kids woke up.  UGH...I am just getting over it.

Now, off to head out for a nice bike ride with our family and officially start spring.

Love and peace and lots of flowers.
:)

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Bummer...

So, I was all excited to use my free weeks pass at this new gym and got up and dressed today to go.  I got there, pass is fine for the week and I was going to go take a power class...the class is like a workout with barbells and weights.  I have taken this class a long time ago and loved it.  BUT...today the class was full and you have to sign up ahead of time.  Boo.  There was not another class happening at the same time so I got on the bike to warm up a bit.  The bike was cool because it was kind of like a video game.  The handle bars move and you see on a screen your handle bars moving as well.  Today, I biked through the redwood forest.  Ahhh...the smell of the trees.  It was so nice.  Actually, it was hard and the bike stops if you stop.  So, kind of a good workout.  BUT, since I was not planning on hopping on cardio machines, I did not have my headphones with me.  Because I was in a class workout mode, I could not do more than 20 minutes.  The good news is that i did do something instead of nothing.

It has been such a long time since I belonged to a gym.  I feel like a kid the first time you get yourself up for school and you don't know how to get ready or what to pack.  LOL...I have highlighted 7 classes I want to take this week and will plan on calling ahead to be sure that I have my space saved, bag packed, headphones ready to go.

Took the kids to the playground today.  It was so nice out.  Ava has been meeting friends that will be attending her new school at the playground a lot lately.  It is nice to meet new people.

I think we are going to try to take the kids outside one last time before dinner.  I am hoping Ava will agree to try her bike without training wheels.  :-)

Enjoy this weekend!

Friday, March 11, 2011

ZUMBA!

So, I have been taking kick-fit and loving it but I get bored easily.  I want to stay productive with working out and I want to continue to love it so I tried a new gym today that offered Zumba.  So, I went.  Because everyone knows everyone in this town, it did not surprise me to know the Zumba instructor.  She is super fit and has always been very athletic so it was no surprise to see her there.  She worked our butts off!!  I was very shocked and surprised that I was sweating 5 minutes into the class.  I LOVE sweating.  I know that sounds gross but I love seeing it drip off my body...it is kind of like the fat is melting off of me dripping away so it is very satisfying.

Tomorrow I may try the group power workout which is barbell training to music.  I have taken classes like that before and really enjoyed them.  The only thing that makes me nervous is that I have bursitis in my shoulder and am sort of in constant pain.  I have trouble putting weight on my shoulder so we shall see how it goes.  Cross your fingers.

Tonight our priest from our new parish is coming over to talk with us about Manny's christening...yes, we have not had the poor thing christened yet...my mother is about to pass out with fear and worry.  I hope I don't say anything offensive...I have not had luck with priests in the past but this guy seems really nice.  The new church we go to is episcopal and the faith fits us much better than my old one...sad to say.

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

The big school

Today we went to the kindergarten meeting at the school Ava will be going to next year.  Because she has been attending a private pre-school with a specific philosophy, I had reservations about the new school which is public.

The new school seems really nice and I knew about 60% of the parents in the room who attended todays meeting.  One of the teachers is Tabor related...she is married to the business director here at the school and she is the sweetest lady.  She has a lot of years of teaching experience and not only does she have a nice demeanor about her, she is very well versed in what the school provides and putting any fears I had at ease.

It will be nice to let go of the private school tuition.  Even though there is a fee for a full day of kindergarten (which is what Ava will be attending) it is a fraction of the cost of her school she goes to currently.

In two years Manny will be attending Ava's current school in the 3yr old program.  He already loves her school.  When we go to pick her up he makes his way around her classroom and the entire building.  He is always welcomed with open arms and invited in to explore.  He adores it and so do I.

So far, so good.

Oh, and I squeezed myself into my "Lucky" brand jeans today.  Who says muffin tops aren't attractive?  LOL

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Spring Break!

Spring break is almost here!  The students leave on Thursday and do not return for about 2 1/2 weeks.  My poor husband really needs this break.  He is barely making it to the finish line this week.

A lot of the students here at school are able to go on great vacations during break.  We will be staying put and getting together with friends during the break.  Ava still has school (she gets February vacation and April vacation so our vacations conflict) and I am looking forward to some family time, de-cluttering our house and our lives!  I have also gotten a gift certificate for a weeks membership to a local fitness club just for women.  I am looking forward to using it during the break while Jose is home and able to stay with Manny.  The facilities look really nice to use and I am excited about taking some fitness classes.  I love to mix up my work outs because I get bored very easily.  Probably the ADD in me.

This week has been a fun unexpected work week.  Between yesterday and today I am doing 10 executive headshots for Titleist.  I would like to give a shout out to my portraiture teacher from NESOP so many years ago who gave me invaluable headshot posing tools that I still use to this day.  :-)  Thanks Arthur!!

I am looking forward to daylight savings!!!  I don't care if we lose the hour, I am so happy to gain the light at the end of the day.

So much to look forward to this spring:  my husband starting umpiring in the afternoons, having him be home more as well from school, my dad finishing his last rounds of radiation and chemo, Easter hosted at my house for the first time...(I am even going to make the home made cannolis!!...wish me luck) , running outside, being outside with Manny walking around and playing in the yard.  (And Avie too)

Happy day today!  Enjoy this sun...I hear it is taking a couple days off at the end of the week.  Boo.

Saturday, March 5, 2011

all the noise, noise, noise!

Saturdays are not a day I normally look forward to being a wife of a boarding school teacher.  I am always envious of the couples who work the 9-5 jobs with weekends off and all the lounging, house tending, errand running things that they do.  Their lives seem so simple and easy.  For us, a Saturday can mean many different things.  1. Saturday classes (yes, someone thought this was a brilliant idea in boarding school...really drive the point home) 2. athletics, i.e.: games, and practices 3. On duty...stay in the dorm and make sure everyone is safe and accounted for.  4.  you name it...kid gets in trouble, parent calls to speak with teacher, kids knocking on our door...the list can go on...you get the point.

This weekend we are #1 and #3...Saturday classes and on duty.  Oh joy.  I woke up crabby.  It is sometimes very hard to give up any private family time that everyone else takes for granted....a quiet house, a run to the market, a little tv time.  I am home with the kids (just like every day of the week)...oh, and I am not complaining about my children, I am just saying it gets a little difficult when the reward is so little.  So, I decided to have some friends come over for a play date.  There is no house cleaning that takes place, or laundry and errands...there is no sending my husband to home depot to get some things for the house or any normal life things that happen.  Instead, we have a wonderful play date with some friends we have not been able to see much this year.  It was so nice to have them over and the kids were for the most part very well behaved.

The play date is over and now Ava has a birthday party to go to.  I take her to that and am again surrounded by kids very well behaved and they are all having a great time.

We come home and now Ava is cranky from too much sugar, manny is hungry and crying and we go to the dining hall for dinner with a million teenagers.  They are walking with us as we walk to the "DH", and they are being silly, too loud, unaware of anyone else....(like they are even aware of me and my family).   We go and stand in a long line to get our meal...I yell at Ava in line because she is dancing around and being a little rambunctious.  Manny cries through practically the whole dinner...who can blame him.  The lighting is bad in the dining hall and it makes me anxious.  We walk home in the dark and I am cold and unsatisfied with the meal I ate a little too much of.  I lock myself in the office and bask in the quiet as I write this and re-live the day that was good and bad and wonder how it could be both.

 I am changing gears now so I can go take photos at the semi-formal with kids who dance so inappropriately it embarrasses me.  I just want to close our door, get into my pj's, put my own kids to bed and have a glass of wine.   Oh, well...someday.  For now, I will deal with all the noise.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Kindergarten!!

Next week we go for the kindergarten meeting at Ava's new school next year.  I am trying to be brave.  If you don't already know, the school she attends now is the utopia of all schools and learning experiences.  I am not just being biased, it is true.  Kind of like the local cable show has a talk show and Oprah has a talk show.  Oprah is just that much better.  Same can be said for her school now.

Other good news...I ran a mile yesterday.  YAY me.  I am super proud.

Stay warm.

Monday, February 28, 2011

Diamonds and Rust

I sometimes feel like I have lived two separate lives.  The one I know now and the one I grew up to.  The one I know now is filled with family and friends...not unlike the one I grew up to.  Now, some of the family is gone and so are some friends.

I had a wonderful childhood growing up.  I like to say that I was an only child with 4 siblings.  Reason being because there is a great age difference between me and my siblings.  I am 9 years younger than the second youngest and 16 years younger than the oldest.  I grew up in a house filled with teenagers and their friends.  Loving family all around me...on a street where 1/2 of the residents were relatives and the other 1/2 wished that they were and sometimes they even felt like it.

I was only 10 when my brother and my sister each got married in the same year.  This changed our house.  They no longer lived with us and my childhood changed.  I often feel very far removed from those days so very long ago...and sometimes it hurts to think about when we were all together.  Of course we had our share of differences, but I cannot seem to remember them anymore.

Today as I listened to my Pandora radio, I put on my Joan Baez station.  The only reason I know of her is because of my sister.  I was little and she was a teenager listening to Joan with her long straight hair and her bell bottoms on.  She would listen to the album in our brothers room because they had the stereo and I never paid so much attention to the music...so I thought until I am reminded with a song that now plays in my kitchen on this very day today...the song is "fountain of sorrow".   I facebook my sister to tell her about my feelings and memories but I write that the song is "mountain of sorrow" and we end up having such a laugh I know it is now a permanent joke in my life and it continues to bring me tremendous joy.

Thanks Joan.


Saturday, February 26, 2011

INSIGNIFICANT...

...the most beautiful word coming out of the ER Dr.'s mouth about Mannys cuts on the back of his mouth/throat from his fall with the recorder in his mouth.

Time for a huge glass of wine now followed by an oversized chocolate chip cookie chaser.

Chocolate Chip cookies

Yesterday I went to Shaws in the pouring rain with the two kids in tow, diaper bag slung over my shoulder...I got out of the car and had Manny in my arms...I twisted my ankle and went flying...all I could think of was protect the baby and by some miracle we did not fall...although in my mind we came just inches from the ground.  It was quite an aerial trick to see.  A woman who was driving by screamed so loud in her car watching us trip that I actually heard her from 100+ feet away.  We were all ok.  thank god...and remarkably so as well.  I wasn't even shaking.  LOVE those motherly instincts and glad mine are well in place and can be used at a moments notice.

Then we went to Shaws and spent way too much money for way too little food.

But, I came home and made HUGE chocolate chip cookies.  All was good in the world...again.

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies...

Ahhh...today is Thursday.  One of my favorite days of the week.  Why Thursday?...a couple of things happen on Thursdays...I take Manny to music class...he LOVES it and sings along.  Today because of vacation, Ava joined us.  She hadn't been since she was a little over 3, maybe even 4 and I had had my run of music classes with her...we had started when she was 4 months old and went faithfully every session for years.

I almost dreaded taking Manny and going to class but once I was there how could I not fall in love with it all over again?  Today when Ava was with us, so many good memories came back.  I was so happy to be there with both of them and now I think I may sign us up for a summer session with them as well.  It was so much fun!!

When Ava was little and we would be in class, she had many friends in her class which was great and not so great.  The not so great part was that she would spend the class running around the room and trying to play with her friends.  I would spend the entire class trying to get her to come and sit down or join in with the playing of the instruments or something...after a while I ended up sitting in the class thinking that I was the only one getting anything musical out of it.

Now when I take Manny, he walks around the room, roaming...coming back to me occasionally to check in with a little snuggle and hug and then he is on his way again singing and exploring.  I am not as frantic as I was the first time around with the participation part because I know that he is participating in his own way.

When we went today, it was amazing to me to see the difference in my two children.  For the most part, I had always known the experience to be me following a child around the room...today, Ava came in, sat right next to me, sang the songs, did the movements, danced with the class and behaved as I had always wanted when she was a baby...that time has passed and I didn't see it go.  She no longer travels around the room looking and exploring....like her brother.  It made me really hold on to the moment of the class and truly enjoy it.  I was bursting.  :-)

I bet you are curious about the title of todays post!...well, it was a great day today...a favorite day...a Thursday.  One of my favorite cookies are Oatmeal Raisin cookies...I came home and made them.  Favorite day, favorite music class, favorite cookies.  See...there was a reason for the title.  :-)

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Chub

Oh, and I keep forgetting to mention that at the new Market Basket in NB, they sell "chubs".  Imagine this about a yardstick long...it is ground beef....AND I actually saw someone with one in their basket.  Why? Why? Why?


Y-M-C-A!

Can I just say what a fan I am of our YMCA in Wareham?  Today they held open swim from 2-4 and we met another friend at the pool to swim.  I was quite impressed with my finely tuned mom of 2 skills now.  I have the two bags...diaper and swim...we all arrive with our suits on, ava is quite sufficient at getting changed and hanging up all her clothing in her own locker (thanks Jose for teaching her that skill) and Manny is in the umbrella stroller which nicely fits in the locker.  (we are not allowed to bring strollers onto the pool deck).

We went into the pool area and it was so busy with a zillion children on February vacation.  Honestly, it didn't bother me because every other day things are really peaceful here and I was happy to see people out. At one point we heard the one of 6 life guards blow the whistle three times loud and strong...that means someone is drowning.  The child could not get their footing and had a bubble on (I am not a fan of bubbles...and here is why) because of the bubble, the child could not turn over to get his head above the water.  The mom quickly whisked the child out and all was safe and calm.  It did put us all on alert with our children though and I told the life guards what a good job they were doing.  Excellent facility.

Today was another day of kick fit...my legs and arms are officially sore already...last night I had little sleep...not because of the kids, but my own doing.  Then I had bad dreams about lions...I couldn't be worried about anything...lol.  I don't know what though.  Everything seems really good right now.

I am happy to have some good energy back where I can get my butt to the gym, take the two kids anywhere (for the most part) even after a crummy nights sleep.  25 days until spring!!  I cannot wait!

Monday, February 21, 2011

Working out

So, like I said before in my other post, I have started a work out routine.  Today is the first day of February vacation for Ava and we have sent her off to gymnastics camp for the day (9-3)...she is also signed up for Friday as well.  I think she will really like it.  My excersize class is MWF and like I said, Manny cries just about the whole time.  Today I have decided not to go to the class, but to do a work out at home instead.  Manny is taking a nap and I feel a little tired and run down.  I made a pact with myself to not work out unless I felt like it.  I don't want to push myself to do something I don't want to do so that I don't end up hating it.  I do really enjoy the class but am happy to have a day home to do it while it snows outside and my son can have a nice rest in his crib.  :-)



Yesterday I had a great day.  Jose took Manny to my moms while Ava, my mom, and my nieces went to see Mary Poppins.  I was home to work and do photos.  It was so nice to have the house to myself.  My space is really big and I have beautiful light that comes through my windows...ok, sliding doors.  My backdrop is nice and big so it allows for adults to be in the photos with children.  It was nice to make my house into the "studio" and have the quiet so I could give some great attention to my clients.

The shoot was a success...enjoy some photos from it!







Sunday, February 20, 2011

Febrrrrrrrrrruary

Oh my goodness...February has teased us with a little glimpse of spring.  Now the cold wind and air are back.  Looking forward to spring!!!

I have started taking a kick-fit class to beat the winter blues.  The class was so hard...I am so out of shape.  I have several friends in the class who have been raving about it for a while and trying to get me to go...so, I finally gave in and went.  They have babysitting while you work out so that was a plus...although Manny did not like it.  It was hard to leave him with someone for a little hour, but I have to do this and get myself back in shape.  The benefits are so great...working out always makes me happy.  So, I drop Manny off to babysitting and then proceed upstairs to the class.  The stairs to the class are 1/2 of the workout...they are STEEP and about 100 of them. LOL...I get in the class and this nice Asian man teaches it.  We start right into a kick boxing routine...I have no idea what I am doing and am stepping in the wrong directions, kicking my legs when I shouldn't be, and turning when I am supposed to be kicking.  I look ridiculous...but am having fun.  I am thinking that this doesn't seem right because we didn't warm up...then, I realize...this IS the warm up.  Oh.  We then switch routine and get some boxing gloves and a paddle...the instructor is my partner because I have never done this before.  GREAT!...then I realize...oh, no...not great...he pushes me to work hard and does not give in.  This is good though...my arms and legs are screaming in pain.  We finish up and then do some leg work with lunges...I used to do these in my sleep.  My legs are mad at me...why am I making them work so hard?  lol  I finally make it to the end of the class for the floor work on our abs.

At the end of the class, the instructor points me out and says how great I did and for everyone to give me a hand.  It was nice and I felt included.  :-)

I can already feel my muscles hurting and everyone is saying that I should come back next week and let my body rest.  I think, ok, not a big deal...I will just stretch and work out the sore muscles.

The next day I can feel the pain.  I stretch and make myself use my muscles.  At night I cannot sit down...my legs hurt so much.  Friday, I return to the class to warm up my body again.  I made it through the hardest part.  To start.

I have signed myself up for 14 more classes.  The class was fun and my friends were super supportive.  I am lucky to have them in the class with me.

March is right around the corner...February vacation is this week and then we are that much closer to March break where Jose gets a good chunk of time off.

Enjoy your February vacation week...if you get one!

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Skating!

Today we went ice skating with Ava's school.  One of her classmates father is an Olympic figure skater and so graciously offered to show us some of his moves and skate with the kids.  It was so fun to see him jump and spin on the ice...quite incredible.

We met at the ice and got our skates on.  He skated around us and then took Ava and held her facing forward while he skated really fast around the ice.  She LOVED it!  He does this with his own daughter and Ava asked if she could do this too.  He gave Ava some tips on how to stand up when she falls and how to skate better.  He was incredible.  His instructions were so good she picked up what he said immediately and put it to use like she had been doing this forever.  How incredible to have her get pointers from an Olympian.

I don't have photos because I didn't take my camera.  I did skate on the ice with Avie and it was a blast.  What a great opportunity.

Here is a link to the classmates dad:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j8dRMMThnYQ

Monday, February 7, 2011

When your one...

anWhen your one, the world is still new...













When your one, you learn how to walk...


but crawling is still more fun...




















when your one, surprises are happening all the time...






















and no matter how small one seems....





















...ONE is really big after all!




Happy 1st Birthday to our beautiful boy,
we love you.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Manny!

Oh my boy, your one on Monday.  Last year at this time I was having false labor pains and was anticipating your arrival with every minute that passed.  You are so special and so loved.  I could not imagine who you would be or how our family would change, but you have always been a part of us and I cannot imagine what our lives were like before you were here.  To watch you and Ava together makes me filled with so much happiness it is about to burst out of me.  Your my guy, my boyfriend, my snugga-man, our man-man, or "mister" as Ava has nick named you.

We are so very very lucky to have you and Ava.  Our little family...more than I ever imagined in love and happiness.

We love you!

Love,
mama, ada, and dud


Monday, January 31, 2011

she is shy

So, many of you are aware of my "Year in the life" project I do here at the school.  The most challenging kids are the ones that don't like the idea of me following them around school.  I guess they think that I am going to embarrass them or take a photo of them doing something against school rules.  Honestly, I don't care what they are doing...I just need to get a feel of the year from them as it progresses.  It is very difficult for me to get the time to follow the students during the school day because I do not have child care.  My mom comes once in a while now and I have to figure out how to manage my time so that I can get into the classrooms.  VERY challenging.  I have to plan ahead so that I have child care, talk with the teachers so I don't surprise them (honestly, NO ONE has ever complained about me being in their room during class...it is really super nice of them and makes my work that much easier), and give a little heads up to the kids I follow...sometimes.  The shy kids are hard to photograph as well...like this subject.  She is BEAUTIFUL and the camera loves her...but, she is shy.  It is difficult, but when I get some gems it makes it all the more satisfying.  Like these:



Monday, January 24, 2011

Unexpected

I met a new friend last night.  Because of privacy issues...(I prefer to keep names and specifics confidential for my friends sake), I will keep some of this general.  My good friends have welcomed a new baby into their lives.  My friends are gay.  You will understand the importance of why I am saying that in a moment.

When I first got the good news that their family would be growing, I was so happy.  I had butterflies in my stomach and honestly could not focus on much else except the minute to minute updates of when they met their child to when they all came home.  Because Manny is turning a year old in two weeks, I am going through some things I no longer need.  Every time I came across something to discard, I would immediately think of my friends and wonder what they would need and how I could help.  I always have a first instinct of wanting to be helpful, useful, making someone else's life better.  My constant quest that sometimes gets confused with being a busy body or too pushy.  (yes, I am aware of this)

As I got ready to meet the baby for the first time, I left my husband with the kids, packed the car with gifts, and gently placed the cake I made on the front seat floor for safe keeping.  I was excited and nervous to see my friends.  It seemed like I hadn't seen them in a very long time and now they were going to be there with their baby!  I arrived early.  I couldn't help my excitement.  I was self conscious of trying not to be too "helpful" and just let them be when they arrived.  The moment finally came when I saw the baby out of the car seat and my friend was holding him in his hands...extending them out to me, placing this beautiful baby in my arms.  I was overwhelmed with emotion that caught me off guard and could not control the tears.  I cried for the joy of the moment, the awe of what was happening, my friends looking so sparkly and new.  I cried for the gift of this child who was wanted so very very badly and was given to a home that is over flowing with love and family.  I cried for every person who came before who had never known this joy of a child because of their sexuality.  I don't even like to say sexuality...it sounds negative.  I thought of all the men and women unable to have children in years past because of society and I thought how incredibly wonderful my friends landed safely in a place where they could.

I was overwhelmed with emotion.  I still am.  I instantly loved their family, and love watching them with their baby.

Everything is good.  Everything seems right.

Now, my baby is crying, waking up from a nap.  I am so lucky to know the joy of that sound.

Saturday, January 22, 2011

4:00 A.M.

Last night I went to see Liz and Ann Callaway in their show "BOOM" that they performed at Harvard.  The venue was beautiful and the audience was receptive.  Liz and Ann were once again perfection in every note and did not disappoint.

While I do not particularly care for some of the song selection and if I had heard it on the radio, probably would have changed the station, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time while listening to them sing.  They were moving, funny, emotional, and as always beyond talented.  Liz's crystal clear voice once again woke up the singer in me, making me want to jump up there with them and be the third sister.  Ann's sultry deep, rich jazzy voice just makes any cold winter New England night seem like you are sitting in front of a roaring fire with a brandy in your hand under a fur blanket.  It was heaven.

The cherry on the sundae was spending the time with my friends who made me laugh all night long.  I got a massive headache from laughing, and yes...I am still laughing recalling all the funny things that happened.

Thank you for a wonderful night well spent!!

After rolling in at 4am, Jose was mad that I didn't spend the night and have more to drink...as he put it "you could have slept until 2pm today!".   That is in my back pocket and will be well used next time around!

Looking forward to spending more time with you guys soon...once I recover from laughing so hard!!

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

School

Ava LOVES school.  Who wouldn't if you could be a part of her school and how they learn.  It is incredible.  The respect for the child is just off the charts and the willingness to learn what the child wants to learn is incredible.  If she wants to bring in a book that she learned how to "read" (more like memorize...but still, it was a long book) they embrace her thirst for learning and have her read it to her little class and then to the 3 year olds.  As she does, the 3 yr olds sit and pay close attention, hanging on every word.  Ava reads with such expression and speaks nice and clear at a nice volume.  I am so proud of her.  After the long weekend, she cannot wait to return to her classroom where she hugs her teacher and tells her that she missed her.  Her teacher says she missed her too and I absolutely believe it.  It is a community.  A learning place...learning about friends, letters, numbers, animals, plants, trees, Paul Revere, bell making, Ididarod racing, rhyming, bell ringing, carol singing, phases of the moon, why the days are named what they are, and anything else you can think of.  This is her last year at Seaside...she was there last year as well.  She will go on to public school kindergarten where you sit in a circle, line up, have specific activities at specific times, and have to follow rules.  My heart breaks a little every time she expresses her love for school because I know what is coming.  I hope she makes the transition well and that she still has a thirst for learning and an excitement for the next new project.

We were lucky to send her to Seaside for the two years.  I wish it could have been three, but there is no kindergarten program next year.  In any case, whenever she would leave the school and move on, it would be hard.  No matter when.  For now I will try to enjoy her passion for her school and not think about the future.  Today is all I have.  Tomorrow is just my imagination.

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

So many new things happening...

But, too many to write...it is kind of like I get overwhelmed because I have let this blog slide for too long so now how do I catch you all up??  Life is good right now.  Work is not as hectic as it was before the holidays and I always look forward to this time of year after the craziness of deadlines and squeezing people in for their Christmas gifts and cards.  Don't get me wrong, I kind of thrive on the way things get a bit crazy...I guess I put it on myself.  It always makes this time of year very much appreciated.  I get to organize my desk, work on photos I am more passionate about, and make a list of projects I have to work on now before the spring and summer.

Lately, I am really having fun photographing snow photos...here are a couple from a recent shoot.  Today, we had a snowstorm and school was cancelled.  One of my best friends had to work and they cancelled her sons daycare so he came over to our house.  It is always nice to have him here.  He is the sweetest little toddler.  I really loved being in with the three kids today...made me wish I had had more kids at a younger age...I would not have the energy for it now.

Enjoy the pictures...I will try to make more frequent posts.